• Visit Rebornbuddy
  • Bot stops working when transitioning

    Discussion in 'Buddy Wing Support' started by Aigaion, May 18, 2017.

    1. Aigaion

      Aigaion New Member

      Joined:
      Apr 7, 2017
      Messages:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      By transitioning, I mean that it stops working when the game has to load another zone. An example would be getting ported from the open world to an instance.

      A workaround, albeit temporary and not 100% proven, seems to be stopping the bot manually before the transition (when the "ready to enter" screen appears), and then starting it again after the transition is complete (after you have been ported to the instance).

      A permanent solution is needed to keep the bot up during the transition. Currently it will stop working and display "We slept way too long waiting for the bot thread to give control back. Aborting thread. Client may crash!"

      Please fix asap. :)
       
    2. Logandros

      Logandros Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Nov 20, 2012
      Messages:
      370
      Likes Received:
      21
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Very old issue, well known. I wouldn't plan on seeing this fix any time soon as it's been a problem with the way swtor.exe reacts in memory when 'transitioning'.

      But again this is well known and documented.
       
    3. Aigaion

      Aigaion New Member

      Joined:
      Apr 7, 2017
      Messages:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      In that case Logandros, perhaps I shouldn't bother with Buddywing once the sub expires. It just sucks that it is the only rotation bot for SWTOR in existence.
       
    4. Logandros

      Logandros Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Nov 20, 2012
      Messages:
      370
      Likes Received:
      21
      Trophy Points:
      18
      I feel your pain, this is why we all use it and contribute as much as we can to make the best of it. The bot has many issues, the transitioning screen is like ... a non-issue for most of us. It's been that way forever and exiting/stopping and opening/re-starting the bot is like second nature to most of us and not that big of a deal. Not when you compare it to the other issues we are hoping gets fixed.
       
    5. SirSik

      SirSik Member

      Joined:
      Jul 9, 2013
      Messages:
      173
      Likes Received:
      6
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Logan, is this a bot issue losing control of the client or something with the rotation? If it was a bot issue then wouldn't it do it when people are using questing profiles? (i wouldn't know as i've only ever used for CRs)
       
    6. Logandros

      Logandros Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Nov 20, 2012
      Messages:
      370
      Likes Received:
      21
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Bot issue, happens regardless of profile. It cannot maintain control of the process when the client transitions.
       
    7. Asbonia

      Asbonia Member

      Joined:
      Jan 13, 2016
      Messages:
      94
      Likes Received:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      8
      Thing is, if you pause or stop the bot before switching zones then start it again it works fine. :)
       
    8. elmk1128

      elmk1128 New Member

      Joined:
      Nov 29, 2014
      Messages:
      10
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Thanks Asbonia, that's certainly good to know.
       
      Asbonia likes this.
    9. derFalke

      derFalke Member

      Joined:
      Apr 6, 2017
      Messages:
      57
      Likes Received:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      8
      If a messagebox (Userdialog) appears, before transition is taken and the user clicks after transition "ok" it works fine without any crash.
       
      Asbonia likes this.

    Share This Page