• Visit Honorbuddy
  • Visit Rebornbuddy
  • Visit Demonbuddy
  • Visit Exilebuddy
  • Visit Hearthbuddy
  • Visit Pokefarmer
  • Visit Buddystore

Bot stops working when transitioning

Discussion in 'Buddy Wing Support' started by Aigaion, May 18, 2017 at 6:25 PM.

  1. Aigaion

    Aigaion New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    By transitioning, I mean that it stops working when the game has to load another zone. An example would be getting ported from the open world to an instance.

    A workaround, albeit temporary and not 100% proven, seems to be stopping the bot manually before the transition (when the "ready to enter" screen appears), and then starting it again after the transition is complete (after you have been ported to the instance).

    A permanent solution is needed to keep the bot up during the transition. Currently it will stop working and display "We slept way too long waiting for the bot thread to give control back. Aborting thread. Client may crash!"

    Please fix asap. :)
     
  2. Logandros

    Logandros Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Very old issue, well known. I wouldn't plan on seeing this fix any time soon as it's been a problem with the way swtor.exe reacts in memory when 'transitioning'.

    But again this is well known and documented.
     
  3. Aigaion

    Aigaion New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In that case Logandros, perhaps I shouldn't bother with Buddywing once the sub expires. It just sucks that it is the only rotation bot for SWTOR in existence.
     
  4. Logandros

    Logandros Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I feel your pain, this is why we all use it and contribute as much as we can to make the best of it. The bot has many issues, the transitioning screen is like ... a non-issue for most of us. It's been that way forever and exiting/stopping and opening/re-starting the bot is like second nature to most of us and not that big of a deal. Not when you compare it to the other issues we are hoping gets fixed.
     
  5. SirSik

    SirSik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Logan, is this a bot issue losing control of the client or something with the rotation? If it was a bot issue then wouldn't it do it when people are using questing profiles? (i wouldn't know as i've only ever used for CRs)
     
  6. Logandros

    Logandros Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Bot issue, happens regardless of profile. It cannot maintain control of the process when the client transitions.
     

Share This Page