• Visit Rebornbuddy
  • DB Security Improvements

Discussion in 'Demonbuddy Forum' started by Foss, Aug 28, 2012.

1. Foss

Foss New Member

I am not a security expert but I have been in the Punkbuster environment for some time and suggestions like these could always be implemented.

Security Improvements which I think should be accounted for in DB and lower the risk of ban are:

Code:
      -Static process name change that uses ascii. (do not have it called Demonbuddy.exe)
      -All dll's and common file names should all be compiled into ONE ".exe"
      -Registry files should have a static directory (if DB drops reg files)
      -checksum randomize knowing warden system could and probably explains in the EULA that they can search your computer.

All profile randomize will have to be done from the creator of course which I see people are catching on.

Any feedback and possible forwarding this to the dev's would help protect DB users... in my opinion.

Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
    2. Nab

Nab Member

Good suggestions, but it has been stated a few times before that even though the eula states that they can search our computer,
      it doesn't make any difference because they would risk violating privacy laws, which they can't afford.

3. Foss

Foss New Member

That may be true but there are different laws for different countries and the legal system can always be exploited and has loop holes to it. Everyone knows that blizzard has plenty of money and can delay a case for years on end until the defending entities have pretty much bankrupt. One could guess that blizzard has spent millions on a lawyer for constructing an EULA which meet legal terms.

My suggestions are just meant as a precaution. So one may never have to go through setting up a petition in order to fight privacy claims stated in the EULA.