• Visit Rebornbuddy
  • [Guide] How to reduce CPU usage

    Discussion in 'Honorbuddy Forum' started by kravitz, Jan 12, 2015.

    1. kravitz

      kravitz New Member

      Joined:
      Dec 9, 2011
      Messages:
      376
      Likes Received:
      6
      Trophy Points:
      0
      Simple solution to fix high CPU usage. Additional 3rd party apps will just add additional CPU and RAM usage overall. Just modify the wow clients settings.

      Change the MAX FPS for the wow client, really no need for anything above 15 FPS.
      Code:
      /console maxfps 15
      You can also change it to 30 FPS, or any other value.
      Code:
      /console maxfps 30
      Changing the overall FPS within the client can reduce CPU usage between 15-50%, better than any 3rd party application could ever do.


      Config.wtf settings (make a backup before modifying anything, always):
      Location: World of Warcraft directory > WTF > Config.wtf

      Some options within Config.wtf can be set within the GUI, but not all settings are available nor offer to completely disable an option. Editing the Config.wtf file is an advanced method to modifying the WOW GUI settings and suggest you research the information prior to modifying them if you're not experienced. (eg. wtf low settings below ***recommend not using these as these are my settings***).

      Code:
      SET readTOS "1"
      SET readEULA "1"
      SET readScanning "-1"
      SET readContest "-1"
      SET locale "enGB"
      SET showToolsUI "1"
      SET accounttype "MP"
      SET readTerminationWithoutNotice "1"
      SET installLocale "enUS"
      SET hwDetect "0"
      SET videoOptionsVersion "5"
      SET gxApi "D3D11"
      SET gxWindow "1"
      SET gxMaximize "0"
      SET Sound_MusicVolume "0.40000000596046"
      SET Sound_AmbienceVolume "0.60000002384186"
      SET farclip "setting 0"
      SET rippleDetail "0"
      SET reflectionMode "0"
      SET shadowTextureSize "2048"
      SET SSAOBlur "0"
      SET textureFilteringMode "0"
      SET terrainLodDist "200"
      SET enterWorld "1"
      SET maxFPS "33"
      SET Gamma "1.000000"
      SET ChatMusicVolume "0.29999998211861"
      SET ChatSoundVolume "0.39999997615814"
      SET ChatAmbienceVolume "0.29999998211861"
      SET VoiceActivationSensitivity "0.39999997615814"
      SET worldBaseMip "2"
      SET weatherDensity "0"
      SET realmName "Kilrogg"
      SET gameTip "12"
      SET launchThirtyTwoBitClient "0"
      SET Sound_MasterVolume "0.5"
      SET Sound_OutputDriverName "System Default"
      SET Sound_EnableAllSound "0"
      SET environmentDetail "0"
      SET maxFPSBk "13"
      SET wmoLodDist "100"
      SET terrainTextureLod "1"
      SET terrainMipLevel "1"
      SET checkAddonVersion "0"
      SET mouseSpeed "1"
      SET statusTextPercentage "1"
      SET horizonFarclipScale "0"
      SET ffxGlow "0"
      SET shadowInstancing "0"
      SET ffxDeath "0"
      SET ffxNetherWorld "0"
      SET ffxSpecial "0"
      SET lod "0"
      SET fullalpha "0"
      SET doodadanim "0"
      SET mapshadows "0"
      SET loddist "50"
      SET smallcull "2"
      SET maxlights "0"
      SET specular "0"
      SET pixelshader "0"
      SET detaildensity "1"
      SET unitdrawdist "20"
      SET waterlod "0"
      SET basemip "1"
      SET shadowlevel "1"
      SET alphalevel "1"
      SET anisotropic "16"
      SET textureloddist "80"
      SET light "0"
      SET fog "0"
      SET bitdepth "16"
      SET showwater "0"
      SET maxlod "0"
      SET watermaxlod "0"
      SET waterwaves "0"
      SET waterspecular "0"
      SET waterripples "0"
      SET waterparticulates "0"
      SET showshadow "0"
      SET skyclouddensity "0"
      SET skysunglare "0"
      SET skyshow "0"
      SET groundEffectDensity "0"
      SET groundEffectDist "0"
      SET lastCharacterIndex "1" 
       
    2. hodge74

      hodge74 Member

      Joined:
      Oct 12, 2012
      Messages:
      400
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      18
      still shows 1.086.756k in memory after i did /console maxfps 15
       
    3. langers

      langers Member

      Joined:
      Jan 15, 2010
      Messages:
      242
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      16
      The FPS command (as stated by the original poster) reduces the CPU load rather than specifically memory allocation.
       
    4. brainAbuddy

      brainAbuddy Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 12, 2010
      Messages:
      2,180
      Likes Received:
      11
      Trophy Points:
      38
      recommend to do the fps not lower then 20-25 because HB could have problems reading stuff and acting like an idiot. you should be fine with good writen code
       
    5. happyfriet

      happyfriet Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2013
      Messages:
      1,271
      Likes Received:
      19
      Trophy Points:
      38
      what's the point in posting ur settings if you don't want other to use it ? o_O
       
    6. sverrre

      sverrre New Member

      Joined:
      Jan 7, 2015
      Messages:
      14
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Hi If I buy a New pc today and wanna bot one client with combatbot. Do I need to do this?
       
    7. kravitz

      kravitz New Member

      Joined:
      Dec 9, 2011
      Messages:
      376
      Likes Received:
      6
      Trophy Points:
      0
      Absolutely untrue.

      It's a recommendation, guide and example of the config.wtf file... if you use my settings and have issues, don't come to me.

      It depends. Everyone has a Config.wtf file; though, modifying the file often improves game performance or even allows you to set settings above what the in game gui allows.
       
      Last edited: Jan 12, 2015
    8. happyfriet

      happyfriet Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2013
      Messages:
      1,271
      Likes Received:
      19
      Trophy Points:
      38
      Seen alot of these back in the day on ownedcore :p never had issues trying dem settings
       
      Last edited: Jan 12, 2015
    9. Owneth

      Owneth Member

      Joined:
      Jan 15, 2010
      Messages:
      723
      Likes Received:
      5
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Oh backup your settings fyi... The OP needs to state that. SOME people want to go back to the old/custom settings afterwards. :)
       
    10. brainAbuddy

      brainAbuddy Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 12, 2010
      Messages:
      2,180
      Likes Received:
      11
      Trophy Points:
      38
      It is wow reads with a frame and needs 2 frames to first "ask" the condition and then give the answer.
      Whit a well writen profile and bot there are no problems running on 12fps but with stuff that uses a lot of power like dungeonbuddy needs to read a shit ton of info.
      The deva recommand running 25-35, but I find anything above 25 a bit overkill
       
    11. kravitz

      kravitz New Member

      Joined:
      Dec 9, 2011
      Messages:
      376
      Likes Received:
      6
      Trophy Points:
      0
      Possibly, but these modifications are also common knowledge for some. Just providing help to those that may be experiencing issues multiboxing / raiding to alleviate the unessential graphics blizzard has been implementing lately and the lack of LOW settings.

      It's been noted, reading is important. It should also be implied when modifying a file. :D

      Still inaccurate information. I've been able to box 5 accounts all with maxfps 10 with no issues at all for years, the only problem is HB startup process is using excessive CPU usage with the past releases... more so when buddystore had been implemented.

      This is not a debate thread, this is a Guide which provides accurate and useful information. Please keep it that way.
       
    12. qztr

      qztr Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 31, 2012
      Messages:
      1,932
      Likes Received:
      17
      Trophy Points:
      38
      Went from 15% CPU usage per bot to 01-02%, thanks c:
       
    13. RubyWep

      RubyWep Member

      Joined:
      Dec 29, 2014
      Messages:
      122
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      16
      Yes this depends on how demanding the profile is. Some stuff I get deaths and worse performance at 15 fps. 15 fps should be fine for questing/leveling, but I would recommend testing if there is a performance difference when farming.
       
    14. fightcancer

      fightcancer New Member

      Joined:
      Jul 19, 2013
      Messages:
      334
      Likes Received:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      0
      is 13 fps ok for DungeonBuddy too? I heard it takes more...
       
    15. kaosh

      kaosh Member

      Joined:
      Aug 25, 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      3
      Trophy Points:
      8
      they changed that..the minimum is 20..
       

    Share This Page