• Visit Rebornbuddy
  • Grind Profile Tutorial

    Discussion in 'Buddy Wing Guides' started by Metrienne, Aug 4, 2013.

    1. Metrienne

      Metrienne New Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      27
      Likes Received:
      7
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Hello,

      In this thread I'll be discussing how to create grinding profiles, which are one of the easiest profiles to make. They generally require very minimal troubleshooting and can be used for leveling and/or farming for extended periods of time without supervision. Best of all: They're extremely non-technical compared to questing profiles and, once you understand what every tag does, you can write one up within minutes.

      You can edit profiles with any text editor such as Notepad, but I highly recommend Notepad++. Some of the features such as color coding and line numbering make profile reading and writing much easier.

      Once you have your text editor sorted out, check out the profile below (also available for download) and I'll explain all the parameters.

      Code:
      <Profile xmlns="http://tempuri.org/ProfileSchema.xsd">
        <Name>Blank Grind Profile</Name>
      
      
          <Vendors>
              <!-- Insert vendor hotspots here! -->
          </Vendors>
        
          <GrindAreas>
      
      
              <GrindArea Name="Farm">
                  <MinLevel>1</MinLevel>
                  <MaxLevel>55</MaxLevel>
                  <Mobs>
                      <Mob><!-- Insert mob name here! --></Mob>
                      <Mob><!-- Insert mob name here! --></Mob>
                      <Mob><!-- Insert mob name here! --></Mob>
                  </Mobs>
                  <Hotspots>
                      <!-- Copy and paste enemy hotspots here! -->
                  </Hotspots>
                                  
              </GrindArea>
      
      
          </GrindAreas>
      
      
          <Grind GrindRef="Farm" />            
      
      
      </Profile>
      Profile: These tags will always be at the top and bottom of every profile.

      Name: Buddy Wing will output this whenever the profile is successfully loaded. Call it whatever you want!

      Vendors: Buddy Wing should automatically visit the nearest vendor whenever your inventory is almost full. If you don't specify a vendor, then Buddy Wing will not sell trash and you will stop picking up loot when your inventory reaches capacity. To add a vendor, go to the Info Dumping tab in Buddy Wing and use "Dump Target." This will output the hotspot (i.e. coordinates) of anything you're currently targeting in SWTOR. See this image:

      [​IMG]

      Place the entire Hotspot line in between the Vendors tags. You can have multiple vendor hotspots. Take note of this technique as we will be using it again for enemy mobs.

      GrindAreas: This is used to designate GrindArea tags.

      GrindArea: This part is a block of information that tells Buddy Wing what mobs to kill and where to look for them. You can name it whatever you want but we will need to reference it later.
      • MinLevel: The minimum level you have to be to use this GrindArea.
      • MaxLevel: The maximum level you can be to use this GrindArea.
      • Mobs: This part contains all Mob tags.
      • Mob: Put a name of any mob that you want Buddy Wing to look for. If the enemy is called "Rival Acolyte," Buddy Wing will attack all Rival Acolytes while moving between hotspots. You can have multiple Mob tags.
      • Hotspots: Use Dump Target and put the Hotspot lines in between the Hotspots tags. You can have multiple Hotspot lines. You don't need to put Hotspot lines for every single enemy, but generally you should get one at the beginning of where you want to grind, one at the end, and some in between.

      Grind: Lastly, this is the instruction that tells Buddy Wing to start grinding. GrindRef needs to specify any GrindArea.

      And that's it! Once you have your unique parameters, start Buddy Wing and it should grind indefinitely. (Note: If you receive errors, double-check the profile for any typos as even the smallest mistake such as a missing quotation or forgetting to close a tag will cause the profile to not function.)

      The other part of an efficient grind profile is the logistics. Some of my personal suggestions:


      • Avoid areas with excessive terrain features (as this may cause navigational issues).
      • Try to avoid locations containing elite mobs that you can't handle.
      • If you have vendor entries, you should be able to reach the nearest one from your grind location without having to use elevators and speeders because it won't use them (and thus breaks the profile).

      Good luck!
       

      Attached Files:

    2. Metrienne

      Metrienne New Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      27
      Likes Received:
      7
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Obviously, profiles can be much more advanced. Expanding on grind profiles further, we can have Buddy Wing travel to additional grinding locations but only when you meet certain conditions. For leveling grind profiles specifically, we usually reference your current level, as shown here:


      Code:
      <Grind GrindRef="Farm" While="Me.Level &lt; 12" />
      Me.Level, of course, corresponds to your current level. &lt; means "less than." What this means is that once you reach level 12, that particular Grind tag will no longer be conducted. If we add a second GrindArea, we can then use a second Grind tag that will tell the bot to go to another farming location.

      This is how an example multiple GrindArea profile would look like:

      Code:
      <Profile xmlns="http://tempuri.org/ProfileSchema.xsd">
        <Name>[E][Metrienne] Example Grind Profile</Name>
      
          <Vendors>
              <Hotspot Name="Medical Droid" X="-41.1161" Y="1.800927" Z="24.3629" /> <!-- Hutta Start Area -->
              <Hotspot Name="Medical Droid" X="-16.4018" Y="1.189995" Z="57.6341" /> <!-- Evocii Work Camp -->
          </Vendors>
        
          <GrindAreas>
      
              <GrindArea Name="First Grind">
                  <MinLevel>1</MinLevel>
                  <MaxLevel>4</MaxLevel>
                  <Mobs>
                      <Mob>Fa'athra Gangster</Mob>
                      <Mob>Fa'athra Street Captain</Mob>
                  </Mobs>
                  <Hotspots>
                      <Hotspot Name="Fa'athra Gangster" X="-48.299" Y="1.238275" Z="39.7198" />
                      <Hotspot Name="Fa'athra Gangster" X="-39.2871" Y="1.178053" Z="33.5971" />
                      <Hotspot Name="Fa'athra Gangster" X="-47.30459" Y="1.291339" Z="30.53445" />
                      <Hotspot Name="Fa'athra Street Captain" X="-48.0419" Y="1.200741" Z="39.8836" />
                  </Hotspots>                            
              </GrindArea>
      
              <GrindArea Name="Second Grind">
                  <MinLevel>4</MinLevel>
                  <MaxLevel>7</MaxLevel>
                  <Mobs>
                      <Mob>Bogmen Scout</Mob>
                      <Mob>Evocii Insurgent</Mob>
                      <Mob>Swamp Snarler</Mob>
                      <Mob>Renegade Evocii Raider</Mob>
                  </Mobs>
                  <Hotspots>
                      <Hotspot Name="Bogmen Scout" X="-23.99194" Y="1.158887" Z="59.59167" />
                      <Hotspot Name="Evocii Insurgent" X="-22.6778" Y="1.143678" Z="74.87375" />
                      <Hotspot Name="Evocii Insurgent" X="-24.12697" Y="1.166815" Z="83.51408" />
                      <Hotspot Name="Swamp Snarler" X="-16.04429" Y="1.354284" Z="83.42475" />
                      <Hotspot Name="Renegade Evocii Raider" X="-20.0093" Y="1.354344" Z="78.5731" />
                  </Hotspots>                         
              </GrindArea>
      
          </GrindAreas>
      
          <Grind GrindRef="First Grind" While="Me.Level &lt; 4" />
          <Grind GrindRef="Second Grind" While="Me.Level &lt; 7" />
      
      </Profile>
      There are more conditions you can use (such as coordinates) but I don't want this to get too complicated. If you are interested in creating profiles, check out Kick's Quick and Dirty Guide. All the parameters and tags you need are in there but be sure to read through them slowly so you understand exactly what they do.
       
      Developer likes this.
    3. walter

      walter Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 25, 2012
      Messages:
      1,112
      Likes Received:
      10
      Trophy Points:
      38
      Thanks for all your hard work!

      Keep it up since no one else seems to wants to contribute to the community like you do!


      I can't thank you enough!




      PS: Sticked!
       
    4. CooyDK

      CooyDK New Member

      Joined:
      Nov 10, 2012
      Messages:
      135
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      0
      man... I cant make this worke... i just keep gettint error after error about line X letter X is not bla bla... i give up...
       
    5. xMasterPandax

      xMasterPandax New Member

      Joined:
      Sep 30, 2013
      Messages:
      91
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      0
      How can it automatically pick stuff up?
       
    6. Cryogenesis

      Cryogenesis Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2010
      Messages:
      2,128
      Likes Received:
      13
      Trophy Points:
      38
      If you mean looting, then set it under options in SWTOR itself, something called auto-loot on right click.
       
    7. xMasterPandax

      xMasterPandax New Member

      Joined:
      Sep 30, 2013
      Messages:
      91
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      0
      Haha, thanks. I never even thought to look in there. smh.
       
    8. kaihaider

      kaihaider Community Developer

      Joined:
      May 18, 2010
      Messages:
      1,325
      Likes Received:
      5
      Trophy Points:
      38
      Is there any way to blacklist an area :S
       
    9. Cryogenesis

      Cryogenesis Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2010
      Messages:
      2,128
      Likes Received:
      13
      Trophy Points:
      38
      No, just make sure the bot doesnt come near, where you dont want it to be...
       
    10. Douglasin

      Douglasin New Member

      Joined:
      Sep 11, 2014
      Messages:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      0
      I'm using a virtual copy of this and It's killing mobs. but it won't loot them. I have auto right click loot on.

      edit: I fixed it. somehow lute npc ws turned off in characters
       
      Last edited: Sep 11, 2014
    11. Kabeewm

      Kabeewm Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      176
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      18
      A noob in need of help, again :>

      I'm sorry for bumping this old thread, but I do need some help :)

      I'm trying just to make a grind profile as this guide is for, just foolin around a bit with it atm but I cant make it to do what I want it to do.

      Just did a small one just to try it out, but when I start the profile I'm getting this: Forcing profile reload. -- Temporary fix for behavior cache issues during start/stop.
      No clue what I'm doin wrong but here is the code:

      Code:
      <Profile xmlns="http://tempuri.org/ProfileSchema.xsd">
        <Name>Blank Grind Profile</Name>
      
      	<Vendors>
      		<!-- Insert vendor hotspots here! -->
      	</Vendors>
        
      	<GrindAreas>
      
      		<GrindArea Name="Farm">
      			<MinLevel>1</MinLevel>
      			<MaxLevel>60</MaxLevel>
      			<Mobs>
      				<Mob>Elite Droid 04-A" X</Mob>
      				<Mob>Defender 01-X</Mob>
      			</Mobs>
      			<Hotspots>
      				<Hotspot Name="Elite Droid 04-A" X="-69.1697" Y="14.40668" Z="139.2052" />
      				<Hotspot Name="Defender 01-X" X="-69.0496" Y="14.27363" Z="135.4976" />
      			</Hotspots>
      							
      		</GrindArea>
      
      	</GrindAreas>
      
      	<Grind GrindRef="Farm" />			
      
      </Profile>
      
       
    12. Cryogenesis

      Cryogenesis Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2010
      Messages:
      2,128
      Likes Received:
      13
      Trophy Points:
      38
      Insert a vendor or remove vendor tags
       
    13. Kabeewm

      Kabeewm Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      176
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Really that easy? Haha thanks man, I'll try that :)

      Edit: Altho, as I tried another profile with vendor its about the same issue, please check my post as it might help you/me more, thanks again for replying mate. :)
       
    14. Maxamar

      Maxamar New Member

      Joined:
      Jul 25, 2014
      Messages:
      34
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      0
      this is a pain in the ass can't get these to work at all has HB change or did i used to use a different bot it was so much easier i went to area clicked grind and it would just kill everything in sight over and over again simple done. or if i had something less simple to do all i had to do was press record and do what needed to be done once and bam it had wrote the script for me and all i had to do was press play
       
    15. Cryogenesis

      Cryogenesis Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2010
      Messages:
      2,128
      Likes Received:
      13
      Trophy Points:
      38
      Well its still simple, press my location, copy the hotspot to a profile, hit save, load bot, load profile and go.
      Just find a descent example.
      Read and learn, don't rant.
       
    16. dredknought

      dredknought New Member

      Joined:
      Dec 23, 2016
      Messages:
      2
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      0
      Need some help

      so i just started playing with the grind bot profile an im stuck
      after i load the profile bot just sits there
      would love to get involved more with this just need to learn the basics
      <?xml version="1.0"?>

      -<Profile xmlns="http://tempuri.org/ProfileSchema.xsd">

      <Name>Darannis grind</Name>


      -<Vendors>

      <Hotspot Z="1.4711" Y="-0.01416457" X="-2.5958" Name="Mandalorian Medic"/>

      </Vendors>


      -<GrindAreas>


      -<GrindArea Name="Darannis">

      <MinLevel>65</MinLevel>

      <MaxLevel>70</MaxLevel>


      -<Mobs>

      <Mob>Zakuul Probe</Mob>

      <Mob>Skytrooper</Mob>

      <Mob>Zakuul Battledroid</Mob>

      <Mob>Zakuul Walker</Mob>

      </Mobs>


      -<Hotspots>

      <Hotspot Z="22.24368" Y="0.02422543" X="-20.017" Name="Zakuul Probe"/>

      <Hotspot Z="49.81611" Y="0.1074372" X="-37.8788" Name="Zakuul Battledroid"/>

      <Hotspot Z="63.17461" Y="-0.0148688" X="-28.73139" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="67.97749" Y="0.01216344" X="-24.0023" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="63.8573" Y="0.2388453" X="-19.7842" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="63.8416" Y="0.08893735" X="-11.69217" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="66.44405" Y="0.3057548" X="1.344004" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="55.1341" Y="0.3033139" X="-1.9225" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="44.68487" Y="0.08557848" X="-15.95026" Name="Zakuul Battledroid"/>

      <Hotspot Z="33.67608" Y="0.04145327" X="-14.13444" Name="Zakuul Probe"/>

      <Hotspot Z="19.31759" Y="-0.005131535" X="-13.14527" Name="Zakuul Probe"/>

      </Hotspots>

      </GrindArea>

      </GrindAreas>

      <Grind GrindRef="Darannis"/>

      </Profile>
       
      Last edited: Dec 23, 2016
    17. Praline

      Praline Member

      Joined:
      Aug 17, 2015
      Messages:
      150
      Likes Received:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Not sure where you guys get the template you are using from, but you have to remove the "-" before your tags. For example in your profile you have: -<tag..>, it should be <tag...>

      as in your first line: "-<Profile xmlns="http://tempuri.org/ProfileSchema.xsd"> should be "<Profile xmlns="http://tempuri.org/ProfileSchema.xsd">".

      Go through your profile and remove all your "-"'s :)

      <Profile xmlns="http://tempuri.org/ProfileSchema.xsd">

      <Name>Darannis grind</Name>


      <Vendors>

      <Hotspot Z="1.4711" Y="-0.01416457" X="-2.5958" Name="Mandalorian Medic"/>

      </Vendors>


      <GrindAreas>


      <GrindArea Name="Darannis">

      <MinLevel>65</MinLevel>

      <MaxLevel>70</MaxLevel>


      <Mobs>

      <Mob>Zakuul Probe</Mob>

      <Mob>Skytrooper</Mob>

      <Mob>Zakuul Battledroid</Mob>

      <Mob>Zakuul Walker</Mob>

      </Mobs>


      <Hotspots>

      <Hotspot Z="22.24368" Y="0.02422543" X="-20.017" Name="Zakuul Probe"/>

      <Hotspot Z="49.81611" Y="0.1074372" X="-37.8788" Name="Zakuul Battledroid"/>

      <Hotspot Z="63.17461" Y="-0.0148688" X="-28.73139" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="67.97749" Y="0.01216344" X="-24.0023" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="63.8573" Y="0.2388453" X="-19.7842" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="63.8416" Y="0.08893735" X="-11.69217" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="66.44405" Y="0.3057548" X="1.344004" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="55.1341" Y="0.3033139" X="-1.9225" Name="Skytrooper"/>

      <Hotspot Z="44.68487" Y="0.08557848" X="-15.95026" Name="Zakuul Battledroid"/>

      <Hotspot Z="33.67608" Y="0.04145327" X="-14.13444" Name="Zakuul Probe"/>

      <Hotspot Z="19.31759" Y="-0.005131535" X="-13.14527" Name="Zakuul Probe"/>

      </Hotspots>

      </GrindArea>

      </GrindAreas>

      <Grind GrindRef="Darannis"/>

      </Profile>


       
    18. dredknought

      dredknought New Member

      Joined:
      Dec 23, 2016
      Messages:
      2
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      0
      so i tryed to remove the - from all the lines the problem with that is when i open notpad it dose not show any there but if you open normal i can see them so far the bot loads up then try to mount an just sits there 12:50:44,122 [INFO] Starting Buddy Wing v1.0.1362.1008
      12:50:45,104 [INFO] Global settings have been saved.
      12:50:49,356 [INFO] Logging in...
      12:50:49,562 [INFO] T: 5247868904921034795 H: 208111435
      12:50:49,565 [INFO] Login Success!
      12:50:50,937 [INFO] First CPU: AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor
      12:50:50,937 [INFO] OS Version: Windows NT 6.2.9200.0
      12:50:50,938 [INFO] App Path: D:\Buddy wing\Buddywing.exe
      12:50:51,935 [INFO] NodeManager update has completed.
      12:50:52,686 [INFO] User is a BountyHunter
      12:50:54,734 [INFO] Advanced Class: Powertech / Discipline: ShieldTech
      12:50:54,735 [INFO] Routine Path: Routines
      12:50:57,088 [INFO] [DefaultCombat] Level: 70
      12:50:57,090 [INFO] [DefaultCombat] Class: BountyHunter
      12:50:57,093 [INFO] Buddy Wing: The Old Robot is ready!
      12:50:57,093 [INFO] You can use the F9 key to pause and unpause the bot, and F10 to stop or start it while in-game.
      12:51:20,504 [INFO] Sell quality set to Premium.
      12:51:25,874 [INFO] Current bot set to Grind Bot
      12:51:25,883 [INFO] Character settings have been saved.
      12:51:25,883 [INFO] Loaded profile Darannis grind
      12:51:34,823 [INFO] Reloading the NodeManager..
      12:51:35,308 [INFO] NodeManager update has completed.
      12:51:35,309 [INFO] Forcing profile reload. -- Temporary fix for behavior cache issues during start/stop.
      12:51:35,511 [INFO] Current bot set to Grind Bot
      12:51:35,513 [INFO] Character settings have been saved.
      12:51:35,513 [INFO] Loaded profile Darannis grind
      12:51:37,395 [INFO] Mounting MSM J-37 Jetpack. Result: Ok
       
    19. JazhJah

      JazhJah Member

      Joined:
      Jan 31, 2016
      Messages:
      45
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Hey guys =D

      Maybe a stupid question BUT, i try to make my own profil and i cannot find the exact coordinate like you

      I cannot find <Hotspot Z="1.4711" Y="-0.01416457" X="-2.5958" Name="Mandalorian Medic"/> ( an exemple) but it's more lire <Hotspot Name="My Location" X="2859" Y="154" Z="154" />

      Where can i find it ?

      Thx =)
       
    20. Cryogenesis

      Cryogenesis Moderator Moderator

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2010
      Messages:
      2,128
      Likes Received:
      13
      Trophy Points:
      38
      As You can see, the line is exactly the same, besides the coordinates and the name.
      You can change the name to what ever you want as long as you keep the " ".
       

    Share This Page